Celtic Ceremonies

The Celtic Wheel of the Year

The Celtic Wheel of the Year is an annual cycle that follows the seasons and the solar cycle. It is made of eight festivals called Sabbats.

Following the ancient Celtic tradition, each Sabbat is usually celebrated in the community to honour, thank and pray to Mother Nature for physical and spiritual food.

In Story Arte we will also celebrate the Sabbats in the Celtic calendar.

The Celtic Calendar

  • Samhain: From October 31st to November 1st. It is the last day of the Celtic year, a moment to honour the deads and our ancestors, as guides.
  • Yule: Between December 19th and 23rd. Winter solstice. The longest night of the year. The birth of the Sun God and the resurgence of life and love is celebrated.
  • Imbolc or Brigid: The night between February 1st and 2nd. Purification. We will celebrate the increasing light, luminosity, inspiration and initiation, while waiting for the spring.
The Celtic Wheel of the Year
  • Ostara: Between March 19th and 23rd. The spring equinox. Days and nights are equally long. The arrival of spring and the change to abundance and exteriorization is celebrated. It is also a celebration of fertility, love and balance.
  • Beltane: From April 30th to May 1st. It is the most important fertility celebration, a moment to be in touch with life, which is explosive in nature at this time.
  • Litha: Between June 19th and 23rd. The summer solstice. This is a time of maximum vitality. The energy of the sun guarantees that the upcoming harvest will grow and mature.
  • Lugnasad or Lammas: The night between August 1st and 2nd. The first harvest is celebrated, and so is earth for her generosity.
  • Mabon: Between September 19th and 23rd. The autumn equinox. Days and nights are equally long again. It is the time to celebrate the harvest, to say goodbye to the summer and to get ready for the upcoming dark season of the year.
Celtic ritual altar